Puerto Rican Diaspora in Photos

The collection of photos here is a brief sampling of a Puerto Rican photographer named Frank Espada– a man born in Utuado but raised in East Harlem after the age of nine.  He was deeply involved in the Civil Rights Movement, the Puerto Rican Community Development Project (PRCDC), and served on the US Airforce.  He finishes his artists bio on his website with this statement:

“Initially, when asked about the single worst thing that has ever happened to me, I cite the fact that I was brought to this country, where I found I was not good enough to be what I was. Then I quickly add: But the best thing that has ever happened to me is finding my wife of 60 years, whom I never would have met had I not left the island.”

-Frank Espada

Boy in a Doorway, Hartford, Connecticut, 1980

Boy in a Doorway, Hartford, Connecticut, 1980

Puerto Rican Rainbow in Black and White, Liquillo, Puerto Rico 1980

Puerto Rican Rainbow in Black and White, Liquillo, Puerto Rico 1980

Conjunto Criollo, East Harlem, New York, 1981

Conjunto Criollo, East Harlem, New York, 1981

Agripino Bonillo, Father of Nine, Murder Victim, East New York, Brooklyn 1964

Agripino Bonillo, Father of Nine, Murder Victim, East New York, Brooklyn 1964

Rosa Santiago, Returned Migrant, Barrio La Pica, Maunabo, Puerto Rico, 1981

Rosa Santiago, Returned Migrant, Barrio La Pica, Maunabo, Puerto Rico, 1981

If you are interested in seeing more of his work, we encourage you to look at his book THE BOOK: THE PUERTO RICAN DIASPORA DOCUMENTARY PROJECT

-Noella

Leave a Reply

